The Catholic University of Malawi has a wide range of academic programmes designed to form the whole person. The University’s academic portfolio prepares students to respond to humanity’s pressing problems by tapping into the inspirations of the head, the persuasions of the heart, and the efficacy of the hands. The University has seven faculties, namely Education, Law, Theology, Social Sciences, Science, Commerce, and Nursing and Midwifery.

Our Faculties

Faculty of Commerce

Headed by Rev. Fr. Dr. Phillip Mbeta, the faculty has the following departments: Accountancy, Banking and Finance, Business Administration, Marketing, and Human Resource Management. 

Faculty of Education

This is the pioneering faculty of the Catholic University. It currently has the following departments: Education, Special Needs Education, English and Communication and History. Mr. Alistalico Chilanga is the dean.  

Faculty of Law

This prestigious faculty, ably headed by Mr. Gift Mwakhwawa, is positioning itself to become one of the key faculties of the Catholic University. It currently has one department, the Department of Laws.

Faculty of Nursing

and Midwifery

Within few years of its establishment, the Nursing and Midwifery faculty has experienced tremendous growth in terms of student enrolment.  The faculty has the following departments: Community Nursing and Mental Health, Maternal and Child Health, Medical and Surgical Nursing, and Clinical Nursing.  

Faculty of Science

Headed by Mr. Innocent S. Chikopa, the faculty has the following departments: Basic Sciences, Geography and Environmental Studies, Mathematical Sciences, and Computer Sciences.

Faculty of Social Sciences

It is one of the University’s biggest faculties and has the following departments: Anthropology, Community Development, Development Studies, Economics, Political Leadership and Social Work. The current dean is Mrs. Loveness Imaan.

Faculty of Theology

The faculty has a single department, namely Biblical and Religious Studies. It also offers courses such as Critical Thinking and Catholic Social Teaching (CST) to all students in various faculties. The dean is Rev. Fr. Dr. Wilfred Sumani, SJ.  

Lilongwe Satellite Centre

                                                                       Lilongwe Satellite Centre Coordinator – Fr. Cosmas Kadzombe

The Catholic University of Malawi has one Satellite Centre in Malawi’s capital city Lilongwe, at St John’s Secondary School. The Centre offers degree and diploma programmes in commerce and education. All lessons for the programmes are offered during weekends and public holidays.


The Catholic University of Malawi has three affiliated institutions in Malawi. 

Inter-Congregational Institute (Balaka)

Located at Sosola Village, T/A. Nsamala, Balaka District, the consortium of various religious congregations offers Bachelor’s degree in Philosophy.

St. Anthony Major Seminary, Kachebere (Mchinji)

This inter-diocesan major seminary sits at the foot of Kalulu Mountain in Mchinji District. It is owned by the Episcopal Conference of Malawi and offers a Bachelor’s degree in Philosophy.

St. Peter’s Major Seminary (Zomba)

Located in the university town of Zomba, St Peter’s Major Seminary is an inter-diocesan seminary that offers Bachelor’s degree in Theology.